updates on charm city life

Standard

Let me start by saying a lot has changed since I last wrote about my life in Baltimore.  I will try and update you on everything that’s been going on.   Where should I begin?

I think I will start by sharing the fantastic news that my brother was officially released from the care of the fine doctors at Johns Hopkins at the end of September.  He is completely independent, feeling great and has left Baltimore city in the dust to get on with his life.

I’m not sure I can put into words how excited I am that he is okay.  I remember being unbelievably scared from the day he was diagnosed until his numbers started to rebound.  I think the most unnerving part was not knowing what to expect at any point.  I’m so glad it’s over.  As scared as I was in the beginning is how relieved I am now.

I expressed how much I wanted to stay in Baltimore the last time I ruminated about my life, as it were.  After talking to my brother and my dad and getting their support, I started looking for a place to live.  I figured if I found a place that I could afford that had everything I needed, it was meant to be.  If not, then it wasn’t.  Well, guess what? I found the perfect place for what I need.

It’s a little English basement efficiency in Fell’s Point (5 min. walk to work), month to month, fully furnished with a full kitchen.  I really couldn’t have asked for anything more,  especially since I don’t have to deal with stranger roommates or anything.  So I’m standing in the hallway taking this picture.  That’s the front door, futon, etc.

If you were to look left from where I’m standing n the last picture, you would see the TV, etc.

In the middle of the hallway is the bathroom, then at the other end is the kitchen.

I couldn’t really ask for a better setup for the short ten weeks that I’ll be here.  I’m in love with it, except it’s a basement so at first I had to deal with a lot of spiders…which, if you know me you KNOW I cannot handle.  After copious amounts of bug spray and lots of screaming, I think the problem is finally under control.  Now, I say that…and watch there will be a daddy longlegs waiting for me when I open my closet door.

I am happy to be here though, it’s a really nice change.  Fall is a beautiful season in Maryland with weather I don’t normally get to experience more than seven days out of the year.   I’ve been able to meet lots of new people and I am having a lot of fun.

Even though I’m happy to be here,  there is still an ache in my heart.  I miss my mom a ridiculous amount.  I always want to call her and tell her about everything that’s going on and what I’m experiencing.  I miss her comfort, if that makes any sense. It just seems like my world is so different without her, it’s hard trying to get used to it.  It’s been six months and it still hurts the same.

On a more cheerful note, Halloween is nearly upon us.  What are YOU going to be?  I had so much fun being Weezy last year that I wanted to do it again.  Especially because this year he isn’t in jail and I could have had a little more fun with it.  However, it was brought to my attention that my friends had the idea of going as the Spice Girls and all four of them were depending on me to be Scary Spice, otherwise none of them could do it. Sooo Scary Spice it is.  My outfit is outrageously leopardy. That’s all I’ll say.

What else…I flew back to Dallas for my ten year high school reunion a few weeks ago.  It was a blast, I had so much fun! I got to see nearly all of the people I was closest to in middle school and high school.  I’m so glad I went, that was definitely one of the highlights of this year.

While I was visiting Dallas for the reunion, I also went to the fair.  It was super fun as well.   I always love riding the ferris wheel once it gets dark.  You can see the entire fair and so many city lights.  Having lived in Dallas for so long, there aren’t many sights there that amaze me,  but the top of the ferris wheel always does.

In coming weeks, I’m definitely going to try and explore more of Baltimore.  I want to get out and about and learn more about it while I’m here.  I also wonder if I can pull off a trip to NYC before I go.  If you have any suggestions or ideas on things to see in this neck of the woods, feel free to pass them along.

I guess that’s all for now, hope I didn’t ramble on too long.  Til next time!

About darkandautonomous

I've always liked to write and this blog has motivated me to write now that I'm out of college. I write about couponing, cooking, and dealing with grief. I also share thoughts on other topics as they relate to my life. If you enjoy it, go ahead and follow me.

Leave a Reply

