Resolves

Standard

All right, I guess this is my first official post of 2012, that’s exciting! Yes, I may be playing it fast and loose with the word exciting, but, here we are regardless.  Today I’m going to write about some of my resolves so far this year, specifically having to do with my career.

For the last two years my career has been bringing people food and/or drinks in exchange for whatever amount of money people decided to give me.  Glamorous as that is, 2012 showed me pretty early on that I should probably start pursuing career goals that are a little more…lofty.  Which is easier said than done, but the important thing is that I have made the decision not to ever, ever, ever wait another table or tend another bar.  Ever.  With my luck, I’m never going to succeed in an industry that is based on taking so many gambles.  Additionally, I hate it.

Although I’m still not sure what exactly I want to do,  I can tell you what I don’t want to do!  And I”m willing to put in the time and effort to find a career path that I mostly love (yes, love) instead of one that I mostly hate, because I have a support system that allows me to do so.  For a long time I felt like a failure because I live at home and my dad helps me out with my expenses.  Even now I would be lying if I said it didn’t bother me.  However, I  have a dad who will never turn his back on me and is always willing to help.  So instead of dwelling on the fact that I need help (ouch, my pride), I try to focus on how blessed I am to have it, not everyone does.

I am going to do some nanny and babysitting gigs in the meantime (do you have kids? need a trusting nanny or babysitter in the Dallas area? I’m great with kids).  Additionally, I love them.

I don’t know if not settling for a mediocre career path will lead me to success or ultimately be a disaster.  I do know that a big weight has been lifted off my shoulders at the prospect! Wish me luck.  In the meantime, I have a lot of spare time so I’ll  be getting back into couponing and cooking soon.  Til’ next time…

Leave a Reply

