cooking with kaseface: baked potato soupy soup

Standard

You may have noticed that I almost never do cooking posts, and this is despite  the fact that I cook quite often. I rarely have the patience to sit down and remember what I used.  I already have a few drafts of recipes written up for this category though so I am trying to do better.  However, I am not one to strictly adhere to a recipe myself.  I usually just do a little research about what ingredients the meal entails and investigate the ratio of liquids to solids.  I am also apt to make several substitutions.

All of that being said, last night I decided to make baked potato soup.  First of all, when I eat baked potato soup, I always think of Houston’s restaurant.  They have, hands down, the best baked potato soup I have ever had.  Growing up, I always wanted to have my birthday dinner at Houston’s just so I could get the baked potato soup.  A lot of the times, they didn’t have it the day we went, but when they did I was in heaven!  For the record, at the Addison location, they serve it on Wednesdays.

Yesterday being Wednesday, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to try to make a similar version. I did some research here and also combined what I liked from another recipe I found on Pintrest.  I substituted butter, sour cream, and half the half and half for margarine, nonfat plain greek yogurt, and chicken broth, respectively.  Additionally, I cooked half of a piece of turkey bacon only a little bit and let it simmer in the broth mixture at the end. I was very pleased with how the soup turned out and now I can have delicious baked potato soup any time I want!  This recipe yields 4 servings.  I hope that you’ll try it and let me know how it turns out for you.

Baked Potato Soupy Soup

1 1/4 cup chicken broth

1 1/4 cup half and half

1 cup lowfat milk

5 Russet potatoes

1/4 cup yellow onion, chopped

1 tbsp. olive oil

2 tbsp margarine

1/2 cup nonfat, plain greek yogurt

1 1/4 tsp celery salt

1 1/4 tsp fennel seeds

1 1/2 tsp salt

freshly ground black pepper (however much you like, I used a lot, probably a tablespoon)

Garnishes:

1/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese

fresh green onion

2 strips turkey bacon, chopped (cooked very crispy)

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Wash and scrub potatoes, pat dry.  Rub with olive oil and poke a couple holes in them with a fork.  Place on a baking sheet covered with foil and bake until tender, about an hour and 15 minutes.

2.  While you’re waiting for the potatoes to bake, cook the bacon until crispy.  Dry, chop and set aside.  Grate the cheese, chop both of the onions.

3.  In a skillet melt the rest of the margarine and saute the yellow onion over medium heat until softened, about 7 minutes. Set aside.

4.  In a large pot heat broth, milk, and half and half over med-low heat.  Stir in fennel seeds and 1 1/2 tbsp. margarine and cook until just under a boil.  Do not bring it to a boil.  When you feel it is about to boil, quickly remove from heat and let cool.

5.  Once your potatoes are finished baking, let them cool enough so you can handle them.  Peel and discard the skins of four of the potatoes and put them in a large bowl.  Leave the skin of the fifth potato on and cut into quarters.

6.  Add greek yogurt, celery and regular salts, pepper,  and even a little green onion if you’re so inclined to the potatoes in the bowl.  Stir.

7.  Strain the fennel seeds out of the cooling milk mixture.  Place potatoes in food processor or blender and add the entirety of the milk mixture.  Blend until texture becomes smooth.  It should be soupy, but not too soupy.  Not necessarily hearty, but thick.

8.  Pour the mixture back into the pot and add the quartered potato with skin and the yellow onion.  Season to taste (I added a tbsp of cream cheese, salt, a little creole seasoning,  more freshly cracked pepper of course-make it your own).

9.  Simmer on low to let flavors mingle and until heated through, at least 15 minutes.

10.  Ladle into bowls, making sure to include a skinned potato quarter in each serving.  Top with cheese, fresh chives, and turkey bacon and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

