cooking with kaseface: peanut butter banana oatmeal squares

Standard

I told you I would do better!  Last night I was unexpectedly free when I was supposed to have been busy.  So I took advantage of my night off by going to my favorite work-out class, danceaton.  One day I will write a blog post specifically dedicated to how amazing this class is, but for now I’ll just say I’ve been four times this week because I have so much fun and it’s such a great workout.  I digress.  When I got home I got on Pintrest and came across a recipe that another friend pinned for peanut butter banana oatmeal squares.

Having absolutely nothing to do, I was probably a little too excited when I realized that I had every single ingredient this recipe required on hand at that moment.  As usual I made a substitution, but only a small one.  I had quick cooking oats, but I also had several flavors of organic instant oatmeal on hand.  After a 5-minute internal debate, I decided to use a package of apple cinnamon in place of 1/2 cup of the standard.  I would like more banana flavor too, so next time I am going to use 1 1/2 to 2 bananas.  That being said, I also topped mine with banana.

They turned out well.  I ate them for dessert last night and this morning they tasted especially delicious cold.  I will enjoy them for breakfast all weekend.  Let me know if you make them, I’d love to hear how they turned out for you. Here’s another link to the recipe.

Leave a Reply

