cooking with kaseface: jerky turkey sangwich

Standard

Mmmmm. What can I say about sandwiches except that they’re pretty much the best food ever.  I love a good sandwich.  The sandwich I’m going to share with you right now is a personal favorite of mine.  It’s warm, melty, spicy, crunchy, and delicious.

So let’s start with the meat.  If there is one thing that I will splurge on at the grocery store, it’s deli lunch meat.  I have a particular affinity for Boar’s Head brand pastrami seasoned turkey.  It was my favorite for the last five years, at least.  Well, I went to Kroger the other day and saw jerk seasoned turkey breast.  I thought to myself, if this tastes like I think it’s going to taste, I am going to have a new favorite lunch meat.  And I do.

The turkey is very spicy, but also a little sweet.  You could also make this sandwich  “southwest style” and add avocado to off set the heat or just to make it even more delicious.  I like to make a fruit salad with whatever fruit is in my fridge to go along with it.  It can also off-set the spice.

Jerky Turkey Sangwich

2 pieces multi-grain bread

3-4 slices of Boar’s Head jerk seasoned turkey

1 tbsp dijon mustard (I use Annie’s Homegrown)

1 slice pepper havarti or pepper jack cheese

small handful of mixed greens

3 slices roma tomato

3 or 4 rings of red onion

a bit of margarine

1/3 avocado (optional)

freshly cracked pepper

1.  Preheat oven to 400.   Spread Dijon mustard evenly onto both pieces of bread, then place turkey onto bottom piece of bread.

2.  Add the cheese, tomato, and onion on top of the turkey and crack pepper over both sides.

Spread margarine on the outside of bread and bake for 4-5 minutes or until warm.  Once warm, broil until cheese is melted through and bread is golden brown.

3.  Take out of the oven and add mixed greens and avocado and assemble sandwich.

 

This sandwich is so easy to make and it’s really satisfying.  I love to top the fruit salad with sliced almonds or add honey to nonfat plain greek yogurt and use that as a dressing.   The sliced almonds add a great crunch and also taste sweet with the fruit, especially with bananas and mango.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

