cooking with kase-face: mango black bean salsa

Standard

Mmmmm…Salsa!  What a fantastic, healthy snack even in it’s traditional form.  I would say this recipe is more like pico than salsa, but it’s still delicious nevertheless!  I wanted a light snack yesterday and as I was perusing my fridge, a ripe mango caught my eye.  From there, I started adding other things and out came this delicious salsa.

This is super easy to make, I used reduced sodium black beans from the can and thawed, frozen super sweet corn. From there all you have to do is chop the other veggies.  In the end, the heat of the serrano peppers was perfect with the sweetness of the ripe mango and corn.  It just has an all around great flavor and texture.

Mango Black Bean Salsa                                                                                                                                                                

1/4 cup black beans, cooked and drained

1/3 cup mango, peeled and chopped

3 tbsp. sweet corn kernels

2 heaping tbsp. red onion, chopped

1 serrano pepper, chopped

1 tbsp. fresh cilantro, chopped

1 tbsp. lime juice

2 pinches kosher salt

freshly cracked pepper

 

Easiest recipe ever?  Add all ingredients to a bowl and mix well, serve with tortilla chips or alone, it’s yummy either way.  I can’t help but wonder if this would taste great with tilapia or another seafood.  I’ll have to find a way to incorporate it into a main dish.  I’ll keep  you updated, of course.  Til next time!

Leave a Reply

